Coming Eventually: Buncy’s Persona 4 Endurance Run

Recently, I decided to go and buy a PS2 so that I could get legit copies of Persona 3 FES and Persona 4, because I’m a huge fan of those games.  For those of you not in the know, Persona is a Japanese series of RPGs; the full title is actually Shin Megami Tensei: Persona.  Persona is an offshoot of the Shin Megami Tensei series of games, which in itself is an offshot of the Megami Tensei series of games, which is a huge collection of games originally inspired by the book Digital Devil Story by Aya Nishitani.  It’s one of the major series of RPGs in Japan, just behind Final Fantasy and Dragon Quest.

As I was explaining to a friend, Persona 3 and 4 take place over a timespan of one year (more or less).  She suggested that I should play one day at a time and blog about it.  I told her that that would be silly, and it would take me a year to do.  Then I came home and realized that I could schedule updates through wordpress.

So here’s what I’m going to do: I’m going to play Persona 4, and write a journal entry from the perspective of the main character for each day in the game.  One entry will be published a day, with perhaps a few bundled together during multi-day events.  I’ll take some queues from you guys as far as who I should be hanging out with, what stats I should focus on, or what part-time jobs I should take.  I’m also going to try my best to enter the Meat Dimension (you’ll see).

If you know the game, and you want to suggest to me some choices right now, feel free (though do it discreetly as to not spoil the story for any new readers).

In order to keep some details on the down-low for now, I’ll simply introduce some of the stats and part-time job options I can take.  Let me know which of these you’d like to see developed.

Stats

Knowledge: Helps me do better on exams (which can net me some prizes), helps me to get the translation part-time job, and lets me start some social links.

Courage: Required for some responses and is required for some social links.

Expression: Required for certain levels of some social links.  (This, in my opinion, is an important stat, due to reasons you may see later)

Diligence: Allows me to take some jobs (which open up social links), and lets me fish more (when I can start fishing) in a day.

Understanding: Lets me work as a daycare worker, and opens up some dialogue choices.

Jobs

Envelope Constructor: No requirement, just lets me raise my Diligence.

Origami Crane Folder: I need to be persistent (diligence) in order to take this.  This is a volunteer position that raises my understanding.

Translator: I need to be informed (knowledge) in order to get this job.  It raises my Expression though.

Assistant Day Care Worker: I can jump right into this job.  It’ll raise my understanding.

Hospital Janitor: I need to be strong (diligence) in order to take this job, which will certainly test my courage.

Tutor: Teaching kids…  I need to be saintly (understanding) for this one.  It raises my Expression and Knowledge, however, and comes with a nice paycheque.

Clubs

Finally, I can join a culture club and a sports club.  Here are my choices:

Sports: Basketball or Soccer.  Either way, I’m more or less interacting with the same two characters (from what I remember).

Culture: Drama or Music.  The Drama social link is full of… drama, and the Music one is full of self-esteem issues.

Watch for it.

Because it will be coming.  And you will be getting a post from me per day (mostly).  Also: I’m considering just using my name as the name of the main character, but I’ll consider non-joke suggestions as well.  It’s also important to note that this game starts in April, but I’ll be starting to play in November or December, so I’ll have to change the narrative a bit.  At least the events are tied to weather, and not moon phases.  I’d hate to have to sync up to those.

Oh, one last note: this won’t actually be a “let’s play”, in the sense that I know it.  I’m not going to put heaps of information into each post, take screenshots, and give you the entire script of the game.  This is going to be written from the perspective of someone summing up the day’s events, not reading over a transcription of the day’s events.  (Later Edit: After writing a few posts, it seems like this is how I’ll structure things: summarize the day’s events, describe them in detail where needed, and provide the script for funny and/or important bits.  Screenshots will be used incredibly sparingly.  This blog should work well for a good understanding of the storyline, and a bit of the persona/combat system.)

Give me your suggestions!  I’ll try and post some detailed information as it becomes available in game.  That includes character profiles.

~ by buncythefrog on November 22, 2010.

One Response to “Coming Eventually: Buncy’s Persona 4 Endurance Run”

  1. Some suggestions so far:
    low knowledge, medium-low courage, medium expression, high diligence, medium understanding
    Clubs: Music and Basketball.

Leave a Reply

 
