EIDBT – April 22, 2011 – Tweet Tweet Splat

Today was a big day, folks.  I’m happy to say that things are starting to look up for the Investigation Team.  For the moment, at least.

Yosuke came to talk to me on the way to school today. He asked me to take things one step at a time. He was probably thinking that due to us going into Yukiko’s castle these past few days, I was going into something of a blind rush like Chie had gotten into initially. I appreciated the concern, but I’m able to notice my limits.

Anyway, after school, it was finally time to confront Yukiko’s Shadow. I quickly grabbed some supplies, and hopped in the TV World. Thanks to my impressive foresight, we were able to directly open the final door.

Inside, it was the usual scene: Yukiko’s Shadow was forcing her host to confront her true feelings.
“Historic inn? Manager training!? I’m sick of all these things chaining me down! I never asked to be born here! Everything’s decided for me! From how I live, to where I die! I’m so sick of it! To hell with it all!”
“That’s not true…”
“I just want to go somewhere far away… Anywhere but here… Someone, please take me away… I can’t leave here on my own… I’m completely useless…”
“Stop… Please stop…”
“I have no hope if I stay, and no courage to leave… So I sit on my ass hoping that someday my Prince will come! I don’t care where we go! Anywhere’s fine! As long as it’s not here, I don’t give a damn! Historical tradition? Pride of the town? What a bunch of bullshit!”
“How dare you…?”
“That’s how I really feel. Isn’t that right… me!?”
“N-No…”
“Stop! Don’t say it!” Yosuke tried to stop her, but I think that in order to get anyone to accept the reality of their own personality, they need to see what happens when they try and deny themselves.
“No! You’re not me!”

Yukiko’s Shadow reflected her true fears; she was an elegant bird trapped in an equally elegant cage. The comic this time around is a little lengthier than the others, so bear with my terrible drawing skills.

 

Lots of people have troubles with this boss. You'll be fine if you're level 13 or up. I beat her at level 10 or 11 though.

 

 

“Yukiko! Yukiko, are you hurt…!?” Chie ran over to Yukiko’s side. I’m surprised she could still move; she’d taken quite a beating from Yukiko’s Shadow.
“No… I’m not–“
“We understand. You’re not the only one like that, Yukiko-san. Everyone has something they can’t show to other people, or don’t want to admit to themselves…” Yosuke tried the same line that I had used on him a few days ago. Of course, back then, it didn’t seem to make him feel any better.
“Yukiko… I’m sorry. I was so self-centered that… I never understood what you were going through… I’m your friend, and I still… Oh, I’m so sorry…” Chie had broken down in tears at this point.
“Chie…”
“I was always jealous of you, Yukiko. You had everything that I didn’t… That jealousy was like a wall, and I was so lonely…! I wanted you to need me… But it was me who needed you. I can’t do anything right on my own… I’ve caused so much trouble for Yosuke and the others. If you weren’t by my side, I… I wouldn’t know what to do…”
“Chie… I never saw the real you either…” Yukiko stood at looked at her Shadow. “I was too busy trying to find an easy way out. ‘I want to run away…’ ‘I want someone to save me…’ You’re right, those feelings are a part of me, too. I understand now… You’re me.” Yukiko had confronted her other self, and gained the power of the Persona Konohana Sakuya.
Yukiko was tired, as usual, so we hurried to get her out of the castle. We stopped for a moment at the entrance to catch our breaths. We asked Yukiko if she remembered anything; at best, her heard her name being called… The rest was a blur. We were about to hop through the exit when Teddie started to hit on Yukiko. As usual, I think she was oblivious to it.

Back at the Junes food court, the conversation continued. It was becoming seriously obvious that Yukiko wasn’t feeling well, so I suggested that we all save the conversation for later. I can’t have my babes in bad shape. Either that or I’m developing some empathy. I think I’ll just go with the first one though.

As Nanako and I were eating dinner, Dojima and Adachi came to eat. Adachi took the opportunity to tell us that Yukiko was back. I feigned surprise and thanked him for all his hard work. The irony certainly was enough for me to crack a smile. Once again though, Adachi started talking about the police investigation. He was concerned that Yukiko had really disappeared, and that the case wasn’t over, which got him a punch square in the jaw from Dojima.
“He’s just spouting some wild fantasy.” Dojima claimed. I was slightly offended at this, and asked “are you doubting Yukiko…?” Dojima shook that one off, and we all sat down to dinner.

It’s going to be hard to support the police throughout all this, I think. I’ve either got a bumbleheaded rookie or an iron vault, no-imagination veteran. They’d make for a good sitcom, but they won’t help us get to the bottom of this case.

WEATHER FORECAST:

23 24 25 26 27 28
Cloud Sun Cloud Cloud Rain Rain
~ by buncythefrog on December 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
