EIDBT – June 5, 2011

These days, I’m really finding it hard to decide if Chie is noble or feeble in her dedication to Yukiko.  It seems that almost every time we hang out, she’s brought up.  Remember back when I got here when I thought that Chie was trying to set me up with Yukiko?  I think I realize now that that’s not what it was at all.  That was just Chie being Chie.

Today is Sunday, so of course I got myself something from the Tanaka shopping channel. This time, it was an armour set. We’ll see how useful it is later on this week I guess. I also swung by the shopping district to pick up a copy of Forever Macho, which came out a few days ago. When I got out of the bookstore, I noticed Chie milling around the weapons shop, so I approached her and we trained together again.

As we were training, and Chie was going on about all the different kung-fu moves she wanted to learn, Takeshi walked up to us, saying that he wanted to apologize. Chie got mad at him for not being a man, and Takeshi shot back by saying that she’d better be careful, because without her cheery disposition, she wouldn’t have anything left. He also, in a very dumb move, accused her of spoiling Yukiko in some way. Chie basically chased him down, which of course caused him to run away. As she was watching him leave, she started talking.
“I just remembered… Way back, I saw Yukiko sitting by the road, holding a dog. I asked her what’s up and she said she ran away from home… She’d picked up the dog, but her parents told her she couldn’t have a pet, and that she’d have to get rid of it… She looked like she was dead or something… I tried everything I could think of to make her laugh. And that’s how we became friends… From that moment on… I told myself I’d protect Yukiko… But… Somewhere along the way, I messed up, and that Shadow popped out… After that, I thought I’d try and focus on what’s good about me. I swore to quit being nothing but the girl Yukiko can rely on… So… I just tried my best. At finding the culprit and stuff… Just generally being more reliable… That’s all. … I feel like I missed the point…” I laughed a bit and told her that that’s the first step. “…Thanks. You’re too kind. Maybe… half a step?” She started to talk about how she was looking for the one thing that makes her worthwhile, and wondered if everyone was like that. Seeing Chie so pensive and thoughtful was a bit of a shock to me. I mean, I know she’s not one-dimensional, but I thought her problems were a bit simpler than this. As I was observing her, I entered my usual trance. I gained my focus back as Chie was mentioning that the dog that Yukiko had taken in was doing well at Chie’s house. She even offered to bring it by my place sometime. The slight blush she had while saying that wasn’t lost on me, let me tell you.

When I got back, I spent some time reading Off Today. I’m still finding it kind of hard to understand his plight fully, but I think I’m getting there slowly.

So there you go, folks. I know that Chie and Yukiko are pretty much joined at the hip, but sometimes I wonder if that’s healthy. I mean, what happens when Chie and I start dating (let’s be serious here: it’ll happen)? Will Yukiko be able to deal with that? Will Chie finally start shifting her priorities away from Yukiko? I don’t know… All I hope is that I’ll still be blogging in a few months, that I haven’t been murdered by a jilted best friend.

WEATHER FORECAST:

6 7 8 9 10 11
Sun Rain Cloud Cloud Cloud/Rain Rain/Cloud
~ by buncythefrog on January 30, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
