EIDBT – June 12, 2011 – Step into my web…

I am seriously making some progress with Yukiko without really meaning to. Don’t get me wrong, Chie is still my top priority, but I’m surprised at the pace at which things with Yukiko have progressed.

This morning, I got a call from Yukiko, asking if I wanted to go out with her today. I was looking forward to doing some TV shopping on Tanaka’s show, but I figured that it would probably be best to go with her, so I accepted.
We ended up going grocery shopping again. I asked her casually if she’d gotten any better at cooking yet. “That… I hope so,” was all she could respond with. She had this little sheepish grin on her face while she said it, too. She told me that despite trying to follow the directions, the food that she makes never seems to turn out as it should. I urged her to keep practicing. She’s got this hole independent thing going on, so I don’t want to ruin that.
“Yes, practice makes perfect.” She nodded, with a little more confidence. “I think there’s no point unless I do it alone… Our cooks help me out all the time. At first, they just give me advice, but eventually they take the knife from me. So even if the meal turns out wonderfully, it doesn’t mean anything that way… I told them to leave me alone, but they still stay and watch.” She paused for a moment. “Are they that worried about my cooking…?” I don’t know a whole lot about the staff at Yukiko’s inn, so I just told her that I thought they cared about her.
“They care about… me? Do… Do you really think so?” She seemed happy about that. “Last time, the head chef took the knife from me, shouting, ‘I can’t stand to watch anymore!’ and made the rest. The waitress saw it and said to the head chef, ‘Yuki-chan wants to make it herself, even if it’s awful…’ Before I knew it, I was ‘studying how to cook for a boy I like’… My parents got involved and it exploded from there… Funny, isn’t it?” Yes, funny how you haven’t denied the ‘boy I like’ part yet. “But… maybe it wasn’t all a lie.” Oh… even better! She paused for far too long, and finally said from behind a blush, “T-Taste my food again, okay…?”
Oh hell yes you know what time it is! I didn’t even need the voices this time to let me know I had made a breakthrough. Finally, we actually got finished with the shopping, and I headed home.

When I got home, Nanako let me know that she had gone shopping for some groceries. I decided that maybe it was time to finally show Yukiko how a man cooks.
I ended up making potato salad for lunch. The trick, folks, is to mash the potatoes while they’re still hot, and THEN add the other ingredients. Hey, it made the serving I made taste delicious.

I’m kind of interested in seeing if Yukiko will end up falling head over heels for me before I can get Chie to do the same.

WEATHER FORECAST:

13 14 15 16 17
Cloud Rain Cloud Sun/Cloud Cloud Cloud/Sun
~ by buncythefrog on February 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
