Please Realize that You’re BEAUTIFUL

I decided to start watching Kuragehime today (Princess Jellyfish), and as soon as I watched the ending song for the first time, I was knocked back by how amazing it is. It’s called Kimi no KIREI ni Kizuite Okure, which translates to Please Realize that You’re BEAUTIFUL.
Hit the jump for the song, lyrics, and some self-reflection.

Here’s the song:

And here’s the lyrics*:

Original / Romaji Lyrics English Translation
honto ni kizuite hoshii n da
anata ga utsukushii tte koto o
ima made naze kizuikanai no sa
kokoro o nakushita mitai da yo
I really want you to realize how beautiful you are.
Why have you never noticed?
It’s like you’re ignoring your heart.
sugu ni sugu ni kizuite hoshii
wakatte hoshii yo
sugu ni kimi ni kizuite hoshii
kimi no kirei ni kizuite hoshii yo
I want you to realize, to understand, right away.
I want to get you to realize how beautiful you are right away.
anata ga totemo kirei da kara
anata ni sore o tsutaetai no sa
itsu made mo itsu made mo
kienai utsukushisa o
anata ga jibun no utsukushisa ni
kizuitara boku wa shiawase na n da
boku wa kimi o omotte’ru yo
kimi no kirei ni kizuite okure
You’re so, so beautiful that I just have to tell you.
Over and over.
I’d be so happy if you realized for yourself how beautiful you are.
I can’t stop thinking about you, please realize how beautiful you are.

It’s not really that hard for me to realize why the song hits me so hard. The message and story it tells is uplifting and heartbreaking at the same time, and the vocals are delivered with a desperation deserving of the lyrics.
I suppose they lyrics speak to me because of the kind of people I identify with. There’s a lot of self-esteem and self-image issues in that crowd, to speak frankly. I’m certainly not immune to it either, and I’ve dealt with my share of self-loathing. I suppose it’s nice once in a while, even if it is just from an anime, to have someone try and pick you up a bit.

So, if you’re ever feeling down on yourself, remember that at least I’m one of the people who will try and plead with you to realize your own worth, because sooner or later, we all deserve a reminder of that.

~ by buncythefrog on March 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
