Words are Cheap

As I was walking home today, I remembered that I had gotten a birthday card from my grandparents a few weeks ago, but I wasn’t sure if I had responded to thank them. That gave me a bit of pause, because as I was musing over it, I realized that I really don’t like written communication. And yet I have a blog.

Now, that could strike you as a bit strange; a computer nerd such as myself, who isn’t the most accomplished orator, prefers talking to people in person over writing to them. You might call it laziness; after all, it takes time to sit down and write a response over e-mail, while thanking someone in person takes much less effort. For me, the time doesn’t really matter.

At least as far as I’m concerned, people are much more real when talking to others in person. I’m not the most accomplished writer, and I commonly misspell words, but when I sit down to write something seriously (I’m sorry, dear readers, I don’t consider this blog to be a serious endeavour), I can produce impressive prose. Anyone who has talked to me in person knows that the things I can write would take me orders of magnitude longer to produce verbally; so when I’m talking to someone, I feel like it’s more of an effort, and therefore tends to mean a bit more as a result.

The problem is when people expect timely responses from someone to thank them for something like a card. The approach I take (thank you person upon next meeting them) is often seen as more of an afterthought than a pre-meditated action. I PLAN to thank my grandparents when I next see them, in spite of the fact that it might be a few months and they might be a little sour about the delay.

But that’s kind of a problem that seeps throughout my entire life. I don’t like talking on msn or e-mail unless I don’t like the person, and I would much rather call someone about an important issue than write about it in any way. The only exception to this in my day-to-day experience is when I’m dealing with someone with a heavy accent. When someone can write well but I can’t understand anything they’re saying, I’d of course want them to write their thoughts down. Problem is that I work in the tech world and the majority of my co-workers are scattered around the world. Lamentable when mixed in with my very low-bar definition of “heavy accent.”

Anyway, I think that’s all I really wanted to talk about today. As a quick update, things are moving along as far as getting a car goes. I’m at most four weeks away, I think.

~ by buncythefrog on April 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
